Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for an Optical Establishment.
Requirements for an Optical Establishment Permit
- A completed optical establishment application
- The appropriate application fee
- Identify the owner or agent of the establishment
- Identify the licensed optician
A permit issued to an optical establishment is for that establishment only, at that location, and is not transferable to another owner or location by any means.
Upon a change in ownership, the new owner of the establishment shall apply for a new permit and shall pay the prescribed permit fee.
If the owner changes the name or the physical location of the establishment, another application must be submitted with the appropriate duplicate license fee.
Applying for an Optical Establishment Permit
- You will need to submit an optical establishment application
- The owner or agent of the establishment will need to be identified
- A licensed optician will need to be identified, if the owner or agent is not a licensed optician
Each optical establishment registered by the Department of Health shall be subject to periodic inspections at least once every other year by department personnel or agents. Such inspections shall be conducted at reasonable hours and may occur without notice when the establishment is occupied. Please see Rule 64B29-1.002, Florida Administrative Code.
Make checks or money orders payable to the “Department of Health.”
New Establishment or Change of Ownership
|Application Fee||$100.00 (non-refundable)|
Change of Physical Location or Change of Name
|Duplicate License Fee||$25.00 (non-refundable)|
Applicants and licensees are responsible for the fees outlined in applicable board or department rule at the time an application is received.
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Chapter 484, Part 1: Preparing and Dispensing of Eyeglasses and Other Optical Devices
Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions
Chapter 120: Administrative Procedure Act
Chapter 119: Public Records
Chapter 408: Health Care Administration
Chapter 112: Public Officers and Employees: General Provisions
Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)
Rules: Chapter 64B12: Board of Opticianry
Rules: Chapter 64B29: Optical Establishments